rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Elkin Work Weekend

What a great weekend!

Friday I sat home and relaxed, watched some movies and just enjoyed being home!

Saturday I got up early and headed out to the Elkin site to spend the day painting. I was really thrilled with the number of people who came out and the amount of work that got done. We had people putting stonework on the castle, painting the interior of the house, and tearing down the old barn.

We got a ton painted and I think by the end of the day I ended up with about as much on me as on the walls. My face, my clothes, my boots, my arms, my nails, my hair... I still have not been able to get it all off.

That evening I wandered out to see how things were progressing elsewhere and to breathe something other than paint fumes for a little while. I was watching the guys work on the barn and getting frustrated with the next section that did not seem to want to come down. Walter comments that they might be better off jumping up and down on the roof...... well that is where they ended up! :) Thankfully it did loosen it up quite a bit and no one got hurt.

I wasn't able to make it to my Uncle's birthday party. I was an hour and a half away, we got done later than I thought, and by the time I would have gotten there it would have been very late and I would have still had the hour and a half drive back. Definintely not the safest thing to be doing as tired as I was.

So I spent the night burning marshmellows around the fire and relaxed. I have to say burning old barn wood may not be the best thing to do, especially if there was any chance that it was near the ground..... it reaked! We all ended up with splitting headaches the next day too. Thank Christian for having Ibuprofen!

On the way back to the apartment that night Dag and I nearly got killed.. we were going through an intersection, Dag suddenly stiffened up, I looked over and saw nothing but headlights. Thankfully they just missed us. The jeep had completely ran the red light, didn't even slow down.

Got a late start Sunday, but Chris, Dag, Vyv and I spent the day working on the list field. I think it is going to look great when it is done. The wood has that really great weathered look to it and will give the area an old rustic feel.

The drive home Sunday night was easy, but to be honest driving next to a wall while you are yawning every 2 seconds is a bit scary. Thankfully I have a good car that does stay straight!

I hope everyone else had a good weekend!

9:32 a.m. - 2004-03-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns