rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Coronation

We did have a great time this weekend!

Left straight from work on Friday afternoon and got to the site a bit earlier then I expected - which was definitely good. Especially after such a long drive. Driving on a highway you don't know at night can be very long, especially with all the road and speed limit changes - 35- 55-45-35-two lanes - one lane - oops on an interstate whoo hoo 80! - that didn't last long - back on the highway - 35 - 45- 55- slow moving car, etc. etc. Apparently the SCA signs kept getting stolen and I went right on past the turn - thankfully on the way back around I remembered Alejandro stating there was an ABC store around the corner and turned there - still no signs marking the road - but I was in luck - just as I was about to turn around there was an SCA sign!! Made it!! Got parked and went in search of Troll as I was not where it was supposed to be and there were no signs marking it. Finally found it in the feast hall after helping a lady figure out where she was supposed to be - because she was basing her cabin on the map in relation to troll on the map - no one told her that they had moved it...

Got checked in with no probs - harassed Duncan for walking past me like I was a stranger - got the car unloaded - visited with a very cheery Jessamyn - said hello to a few people and pretty much settled in for the night.

Got an early start on Saturday morning - albeit a very cold start. Got up early and figured I would jump in the shower while there was still hot water.... NOPE.... ice cold and no hope of it warming up. Apparently the pilot was out or not lit - I don't know.... I just know it was COLD!

Got the pavilion put up without any mishaps luckily. Then we all sat around waiting for the Royals to inform Susanna they were putting her on vigil for her Laurel (which she helped set up unknowningly!). When they began to approach her we all ran up behind them, the look on her face was absolutely precious. She was in complete shock!!

The day went real well. It was a fairly peaceful day. Got a bunch of forms notarized for the youth combat and they had their first official youth combat practice in Atlantia! Everyone was very cooperative and helpful. The kids even got to practice on the actual list field and were soo excited! Even got to visit with Susanna during her vigil.. I am just so thrilled!

Got the thrones for SS and NC down for court and had a lot of fun watching all the landed Baronage and heralds try to figure out the order of precedence and whose thrones go where.. :)

Court began and it was beautiful, with the water and setting sun behind them made for a truly majestic setting. After a few false starts and people not in court yet it finally got going. There was a herald mishap and we discovered that we have a "Dude Ragnaar" now instead of a "Duke Ragnaar" - that one is not going to go away any time soon! :)

They brought Susanna in and called the various Orders in to speak on her behalf - they all said such beautiful and very true things regarding her. Logan even came down to speak for the chiv, which was really incredible. To be honest I would have been very disappointed if he had not shown. I know that Susan means a great deal to him and I know that having him speak for her meant a tremendous amount to her as well.

Feast got going with a little upset and confusion regarding table assignments - but it got worked out. Thank you Emma for taking care of getting us all at the same table, that is not an easy task when you are dealing with about 20 people! But we did finally all get settled and there was plenty of food. It was all incredibly delicious, I enjoyed it very much - and I am not a huge fan of feasts.

After feast I ended up in the kitchen with Kisaiya washing dishes - and then Kyneburh comes in trying to snag dishes from us and drying them. She was trying so hard to help and they just could not bring themselves to allow the woman who just stepped down as Queen do dishes. :)

We went on back to the cabin afterwards and drank some of Wolfram's incredible home made liquors... MMMMM..... Yummy! Manya, Seraphina, Kisaiya, and I got a little restless and went for a walk. Completely obnoxious and giggling our full heads off. At one point we were laughing so hard Kisaiya and I ended up on the ground - I can't remember the last time I laughed so hard my stomach hurt. I have no clue what it was about other than Kisaiya stating that we had to calm down if we were going to go to the bardic circle - which of course set us off again. Lasted there for about 2 seconds - realizing there was no way we were going to sit quietly.

Visited the party in the Royal cabin briefly and went on back to our cabin. Sat and chilled there the rest of the evening. Ragnaar, Alejandro, and various others came and visited. Ragnaar was the last to leave when we finally ran him out as we were all ready to go to bed.

Sunday came upon us bright and cheery - though a little late thanks to the time change. Still no hot water - so no shower for me!

Got packed and went on out to the field to get the pavilion down around 11:00 (running late again!). That was fun - I was nearly taken out by it. We were bringing it down and while I was under it the wind caught it and collapsed it. The center pole missed my head by inches... Mind you this is a 20x30 pavilion with a solid wood center pole.... that would have hurt just a bit should it have connected with my noggin.

Got all packed up and had a quick fruit picnic while watching the fighter practice. Filked "I love big butts" for Daemon with "I love landsharks" - he was touched!

Went ahead and went to lunch afterwards and headed on home. Got home around 7:30 and was in bed within the hour. Slept for a good 11 hours.

Off to a Canton meeting tonight - and can hopefully get some stuff back to Kisaiya there. Tomorrow night and Wednesday night will be working on banners for everyone. I hope to be able to get a dress done for me over the next two weeks and Duncan's new tabard as well. So much to do as usual and so little time!

Thursday night will be spent packing so that I can head out to Florida on Friday morning.

I hope you all had a great weekend as well!

9:24 a.m. - 2004-04-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns