rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sewing

Good Morning!!

For the second night this week I was up til midnight. But it was all good!

Stopped at Hancock on the way to Mel's last night to pick up the material for the tabard - luckily enough I thought to get one extra yard, which we needed once we got to really looking at the pattern. It is easy enough though and Mel is having me actually do all the sewing on it. I am even going to learn how to do applique! Which I really need to learn with all the fighting tunics I will probably end up doing over time. :)

Got the material all washed and while we did not think the green would bleed, it did a little bit... but it was all good, made the gray match the green better and I will have a green silk dress with gray gores for Novice! It'll look great! Next we are going to do one similiar but gray with green gores.. hee hee! I love garb!

I am so happy that she is teaching me to sew because I really am a garb hound at heart and need learn to make all the stuff that I want. I remember when I first joined and people were talking about different outfits for every event and just looking at them like they were insane..... well I am one of those now. I look at my closet at times and wonder what I wore to events over the last two years because I don't have any garb! :)

(If anyone doesn't know Mel is an INCREDIBLE person!!!! I am so glad that I have gotten to know her!)

Well, I do admit to wanting to wear more dresses then I used to..... it's funny, when I was a child my father worked two jobs so that my mother could stay home with us. So once a month he would take me out on a "date" with him. My choice of restaurant and I would get all dressed up to go out to dinner with my Daddy. I remember one night in particular vividly. We went to Carey Hilliards in Charleston, SC. I was in the 5th grade and had a tremendous crush on the boy named Bob Fox. Dark hair, blue eyes, I was smitten. I told Daddy about him and he told me that if I wanted the boys to notice me that I should wear dresses and look pretty. That still sticks with me to this day. Whenever there is a guy that catches my interest, the first thing I want to do is to put on a dress and look pretty.

So you will probably see me in dresses more often these days, especially seeing as there always seems to be at least one that has caught my interest. Most tend to wear off the more I get to know them and I realize that realistically, we are much better off friends and an actual relationship would not work. As appealing as the idea of just having someone to "play" with is, I really just don't want to waste the time and would rather wait until I find someone that I really enjoy being with.

Anywho.. this turned more philisophical than I meant. I hope everyone has a terrific holiday weekend. I am off to Florida tomorrow morning to visit with my sister, my father, and my family down there. From what I understand we are heading over to St. Pete on Saturday afternoon to go to party with the Aunts and Uncles, so it should be a good time.

See ya'll soon!

9:41 a.m. - 2004-04-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns