rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Trip to Florida for Easter

I had a really nice visit with my sister and my family this weekend.

Took off early on Friday morning to head down to Orlando and had a fairly easy drive, although it was stop and go at times with all the cars heading out for the holiday weekend. Crossed over the Georgia border and a car had apparently just crashed through the barrier on the median and flipped. There were a number of people around the car trying to get the occupants out and people on their cell phones trying to call the police so I kept going as I figured there was nothing that I could contribute at that point beyond just more confusion. It was pretty heart wrenching realizing that those people were probably seriously injured. The car was so beat up, with pieces scattered between the guard rail and where it ended up, that I could not even tell what type of vehicle it had been.

When I got to FL constant construction started, my father said that they had recently gotten some huge grant to spend on the roads to improve them..... they don�t appear to have wasted much time in getting started. I-4 going into Orlando was stop and go, I filled up at one point, and after driving for about half an hour realized my gas gage was still on F - it hadn�t moved. I think I had gone about 3 miles. UGH! Thankfully I had audio books with me and they kept me entertained.

Got to my father�s at about 5:00 and was introduced to some friends of his that live down the street. After my sister got home from work we went out to a little seafood place 5 minutes down the street. We just can�t get seafood like that here! I had shrimp stuffed with crab and covered in a bearnaise sauce...*sigh* - such wonderful food! His neighbors came with us and as we were walking into the restaurant we were about to walk through the bar and his neighbor turned to me and asked me if I was over 21 yet! :) I have to admit that tickled my funny bone, I explained that I was nearly 30 and plenty old enough to go into the bar. Nice to know I am aging well!

Saturday morning my sister and I headed to the mall she works at after relaxing out by the pool in my father�s back yard for the morning. She introduced me to nearly every person that works in the two story store that she works in. So many people, so many names... couldn�t keep up with it all. Her store manager offered me a job on sight and I turned him down. Since I was just meeting these people I was polite, though what I really wanted to say was that there was no way he could afford me. It�s been a long time since I worked for $6 a hour! We then raided the baby dept for stuff for our newest cousin/niece... Can�t wait to give it all to Tonya!

In typical �me� fashion, forgot my wallet and had to run back to the house to get it out of my car. Thankfully it was a whole 5 minute drive!

I took Erica shopping for her Christmas and Birthday presents. She is terribly hard to fit and it is easier to just take her shopping and let her pick clothes out. We got a CD and then went to Ann Taylor. I told her she had $80 left and she declared there was no way that she would let me spend that much on her. The total came to $94.00. I truly love my sister! :)

Met a friend of hers for lunch and visited for a little while, then headed back to the house to get ready to head to St. Pete to see the rest of the family. Got everything loaded in Dad�s truck after the hour it took Erica to figure out what she was going to take for a 24 hour trip (and my friends think I am high maintenance!!!!). Got to my grandmother�s and she nearly knocked my sister out of the way to get to me to give me a hug. I haven�t been down in about a year and a half and she apparently missed me greatly. Had hamburgers on the back porch while overlooking the bay. She has the most incredible condo. Sliding glass doors across the entire back and you look right over the bay. The water is about 20 feet away and it is absolutely beautiful. I would love to be there during a really good thunderstorm, the lightening must be phenomenal to watch!

Met up with my Aunt and Uncle at the local bar where they play darts afterwards. My Aunt had been partying for a little while already and was extremely glad to see us! My Uncle was sitting there watching her with a bemused smile on his face. We met a few of their friends and headed over to a party at one of their friend�s houses. I got pulled into a dart game where you had to beat the person�s score in front of you. Erica did horribly, but I held my own. Actually outlasted quite a few of the people that play on a regular basis. This was only the second time in my life that I have ever played darts, the first was during Mardi Gras at about 2 or 3 in the morning, drunk off my rear. My boyfriend and his brother were trying to teach me and his brother�s date how to play. I think we spent more time flirting and twirling around the dance floor rather than playing though!

Sunday we got up and Erica and I headed for the pool. It felt so great to play around and just lay out and read. Slathered myself with sunblock and was quite comfortable. My sister swears I am just way too white and that I desperately need some color. Spent about two hours out there and then headed in to shower up as the family was all coming over.

Had a great lunch/dinner with the family and caught up with my Aunts, Uncles, and cousins. Unfortunately my Aunt Patty and Uncle Marc could not make it. Aunt Patty is currently going through chemo and needed to stay home and rest. Hopefully I will get to see them next time I am down. Watched some dolphins play out in the water and my cousin even briefly spotted a shark. One of my grandmother�s friends was really surprised to discover how old I was, for some reason I must just not look my age. Something tells me I will be very thankful for that one day. :)

We headed back to Orlando that evening and it was a really long drive. It was pouring and storming the entire way. Got up Monday morning and headed on back home.

The drive home was really easy, just over 8 hours. Caught up with a few friends and my mother on the phone and listened to the sequel to Bridget Jones� Diary on audio tape. It was pretty good and I enjoyed it. Since I was getting in early I headed on over to Dawn and Andrea�s for dinner and caught up with everyone there. Bera showed me some sights she had found for her wedding and we were discussing going out to one of them to check out as a group. Absolutely beautiful gardens that would be great fun to visit even if they don�t have their wedding there. Dawn and Andrea made lasagna. Kevin and Lydia showed up where I was admonished for not mentioning that I was going out of town for the weekend. Kevin had tested a new email address for me and I did not respond! Oops! Forgot to mention that to the officers.... Dawn must have covered for me! Manya came over for a little bit and we all visited. Went over some stuff for Baronial Birthday, harassed Dagonet for a little bit on the phone, a typical �us� evening.

Tonight, I am pinning up the tabard and heading over to Mel�s to work on that. Tomorrow night I am going to have dinner with Mom.

Lots to do over the next two weeks before Novice, I pray I get it all accomplished.

10:46 a.m. - 2004-04-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns