rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Novice Tourney: Challenge of the Phoenix

Novice Tourney!

What an absolutely incredible event, if I do say so myself. One of the best I have been too in awhile.. of course it was put on by my own Barony! :) Have to have pride!

Got off work Friday after fielding various phone calls back and forth between Dag and the event staff on a miscommunication about the time that he was supposed to arrive. Went directly to site, got checked in very easily (Damn good troll!), then trotted off to figure out what was going on with the field and where we were putting me. I do want to thank the staff for being patient and understanding while I am standing there half asleep stating that I did not like the set up of the period tents and that they had to move. They bent over backwards and accomodated me quite nicely.

Then I traded the keys to my car (which had my pavilion in it) for a ferret! Apparently Babette was in dire need of some Rachel time! So my pavilion went up very easily (for me at least) I sat on a pillow playing with the ferret and the boys did the labor. Thank you Dag, Hump, Wolfram, and Dante! Ya'll were great!!! Though, dear Sir Dagonet, I don't know if the line was exactly where I had hoped it would be....... :)

Got my stuff all situated and the mattress pumped up, including my new flannel rose sheets put on (has to be roses!) and headed back up to Troll. Margaritas were awaiting me!! I love Mel! Apparently Babette loves margaritas too as she kept trying to dive into my glass and was licking a few drops from my hand. Finally made it back out to the porch (as they were using an electric saw and every time I approached the front door they turned it on and Babette went nuts). (Oh! Lady Emma declared the ferret's name was Babette, and Dag wisely agreed!) Mel insisted I take her chair to relax and I finished my margarita and nearly fell asleep in the chair waiting for Duncan to finish setting his camp up and for the girls to get there. 11:00 hit and I was pooped, so I went to my pavilion and gave up waiting on everyone. Crawled in and discoverd that my mattress was completely flat. Got that pumped back up and then discovered I needed to make a bathroom run. So I got back up and was immediately found with various problems concerning signs and my phone apparently not working. Got that situated and back to bed. Mattress going flat again. Damn. Try to lay there anyways and finally realize that I am awake so I might as well get back up.

Got up and found Duncan, gave him the tabard, which he absolutely adored. The boy is so appreciative of being spoiled!

Hung out for a bit and then headed back to bed. I had told Dag about my mattress situation and a few minutes after climbing in bed he appeared at my pavilion with Dawn's extra air mattress in hand and blew it up for me. (Note: by this point it is 1:00 in the morning!)

Saturday came a bit too early, I got up, got showered and Appolonia cheerfully took on Troll for me. What an incredible woman! I chose well in my deputies! Got everything out to the field and I made a quick store run. I love long country roads, you can go really fast! So I blared Shakira, drove fast, and finally got my energy back!

The Tourney went very well. Everyone fought well, I got saluted personally many times from the field, unfortunately due to my schedule and the set up of the pavilion (there was a large musical instrument between me and my view of the field) I missed them and found out later. At which point I enthusiastically thanked each of them. I have to be selfish and state that that is one of my favorite portions of the fighting and I was very disheartened to know I missed it. I'll be sure to pay more attention from now! Steven was great and got lots of pictures and video of the event, which I, of course, will be requesting copies of! Just let me know what I owe you!

The children's activities were hilarious. I loved the two year old who just randomnly did whatever he felt like! It was too cute!

Feast was just plain yummy!! Galen certainly knows how to cook pig, the marinade was heavenly. I think this was honestly one of my favorites. Great people and food! Sherra, I know I was giving you a hard time about the oranges, but you were truly incredible! Thank you very much for carrying the food out to us. Halima, your brews are at the top of my list! Some of the yummiest stuff I have ever had! If you are ever looking for a good bribe, get a bottle of anything from her - I'll be wholeheartedly in your debt!

The partying and conversations that night were perfect. I had a glorious evening. The stories and Sir Daemon's version of Who's Line was hilarious. The songs were beautiful. The walks and talks with friends will always be treasured. I was thrilled to hear Fiona sing, even us loud people having various fighting discussions off to the side stopped to listen while she sang.

Got to bed very late and was asked to keep Babette for the evening. She had been in her cage all night so when she saw me climb in bed decided that she wanted out and was going to make as much noise as ferretly possible to make sure she got my attention. So I wandered back out, ferret in hand, so that Bera and Dag could wear her out. Thank you guys! You did it beautifully, she calmed down long enough for me to go to sleep.

Woke up early to my phone randomnly turing itself on and off for some reason and to Babette rattling her cage again. Got my shower, talked to Dawn under the pavilion and let Babette burrow in the pillows. Tried on the beautiful dress that Lady Emma had made me. I can't wait to show it off next weekend! Had the officer meeting and then curia. Which all went very easily and well. Got attacked by a wasp and stung numerous times mid way through a sentence during curia, not one of my most graceful moments to be sure! Luckily half of the Kingdom's herbal guild is in our Barony and all have kits, I have never had so much stuff put on a sting in my life!

Got my pavilion down and everything packed up. Thanks to Apollonia and Achbar for helping me get it folded to be put back in the box. Got troll accounted and waited for the okay from Walter. Caught up with everyone for breakfast (well late lunch by that point) and got on the road home. Had to pull over and nap part way home I was so tired. Got in the house and laid down for a nap for an hour before bowling. Apparently set the alarm for 6:00 am instead of pm and woke up at 4AM this morning. Oops! Guess my body needed it badly.

I had a wonderful time this weekend and the event went incredibly!

Mel and Steven's pics from the event:

http://www.weymark.com/SCA/novice2004/

10:28 a.m. - 2004-04-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns