rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

RenFest/Practice

This was actually a very relaxing weekend for me over all. I had a really nice time.

Friday was a topsy turvy day, a friend of mine who has become very dear to me had a sit down with me and talked to me about how I really need to start eating better and exercising. That it would help me feel a great deal better. He has been on a major get back in shape kick recently and he is trying to let some of his enthusiasum carry over to me. He is completely right and so I have decided that I am going to do this. I enjoyed the weekend and didn't worry much about anything, but starting this morning I began my Aunt's diet that has been hanging on my fridge for years! I already feel better. Mel and I have chitchatted all morning on IM and we both want to get in better shape for various reasons. So we are going to try to motivate each other, starting tonight. We are going to get out and walk for 30 minutes before we get started working on pavilions. I also picked my 10lb barbell out and have started doing that every morning to work on my arms. I am supposed to start with small goals, so the first will be to get through these first three days on this diet and really stick to it!

Friday I went to lunch with my mother, father, grandfather, aunt, uncle, favortist cousin, cousin, and new baby cousin/niece. We had a really great time and it was so nice for the family to get together. I finally got to see Ana out of the hospital and home and healthy. She is gorgeous.

After work I ran a few errands and headed on over to my cousin's for the night. We didn't do a thing and I had a good size glass of wine - just what I needed.

Saturday morning we got up and I took Christopher out to the Ren Fest in Asheville for the day. We ran through the drivethru and he informed me (after blowing his straw cover at me) that I was the funnest Aunt he had. That he really enjoyed spending time with me. That really means a lot to me, especially as he is getting older and will be starting high school in the fall.

We drove on out to Asheville and I finally discovered once we got there why I was getting so tired every time I took my sinus meds..... I thought I grabbed the non-drowsy box... nope... this one definitely causes drowsiness apparently. I had thought it was particularly strange that I had only been up for three hours but was falling asleep.

Got the Festival, said hello to the SCA folks, and went and did some shopping. My lovely nephew got me pulled up on stage during one of the shows.... lucky me got to pick out the nail that the gentleman then went and pounded into his nose. Now that is the man for me! Actually he was kind of cute in that grizzly adams sort of way. :) They did have the other volunteer pound the nail into a block of wood with a certificate stating what the nail was and the date, etc. I gave it to Christopher to keep. He was getting a kick out of me being onstage and I was just trying to adjust to being called Lady Rachel and not Lady Rozsa. :) I didn't realize how much Rozsa has become ingrained when I am in a "medieval setting" of any sort.

We had a great time the rest of the day and relaxed and listened to stories being told. Watched the SCA fighting demo while we ate lunch. They only had about four heavy fighters and what looked like two rapier fighters. I had hoped to see a few more people there, but apparently everyone was busy or didn't know about the demo.

On the way home I realized that my meds were still active and I was falling asleep so my nephew was gracious and played with his gameboy while I grabbed a quick nap at a rest stop for a few minutes. Okay, no more of those meds during the day!

Got back to my cousin's, watched Brother Bear, which was really cute and headed on home.

Relaxed for the rest of the evening and headed to bed early.

Got up Sunday, cleaned the laundry room out, decided I wasn't ready to be up yet and went back to bed until I HAD to get up to head to fighter practice.

Talked to a girlfriend of mine from the Navy on the way there. She is currently going through a roughspot, is going through a divorce and just lost her job. But she is keeping her head up and looking towards the future. She refuses to allow her husband to walk all over her through the divorce and is willing to fight for what she feels is rightfully hers. Her self confidence has grown incredibly over the last few years and I can't wait to see where she is a few more. She is determined to make it in life on her own and I think has finally come to the realization that it is okay to be single and that you don't have to have a husband to be considered a successful woman in life and that even she deserves the right to be happy. Not that I am knocking marriage by any means, to the right person it will be truly glorious thing. One of my friends recently said I was one of the most beautiful people he knew, he hasn't met her! Some of my friends also feel I give a great deal of myself to others, it doesn't compare to what Marcy gives to me and to those who mean the world to her.

The rest of practice went well. We had a new member show up that lives in Pineville and she is really excited about the SCA and wants to get her son involved with the youth combat. We had a our first practice in Sacred Stone this weekend and it was two girls fighting it out! So great to see! Atlantians Thugs-n-Training (as I like to call them) or Atlantian Thugs - Jr. Division as Sir Axel refers to them.

Spent a great deal longer there than I had planned. Got more details worked out for SSBB though. Feast hall decorations have been decided and site tokens are being done. Just have to get everything in motion!

Off to walk with Mel tonight and work on pavilions!

Be Good!

10:37 a.m. - 2004-05-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns