rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sapphire Joust

Sapphire..... what a collection of experiences and memories. Can't wait for next year.

Fri we got off fairly well. I took off from work at 2:00, packed the car, got Mel at her work at 4:00, went and got her stuff (with her emphatically declaring the entire time that there was NO WAY we were going to get everything in the car.... HAH! She hasn't seen me pack a car before!). Got everything loaded and ready to go and were on the road at 5:00. Called and checked in with the boys to see where they all were. Harassed Dag, and got treated to a rendition of Oddr's and Duncan's adventures of getting lost in some Eastern NC ghetto and something about Mimosa trees blocking road signs. (Personally I thought Mimosa's were a drink......)

Actually got up to the site without any difficulties other than random phone calls and wierd signals coming and going.

My back had gotten screwed up getting everything loaded for everyone in the car and so I felt utterly helpless while they are unloading all my stuff and setting everything up. The crew that was on hand got my pavilion part way up and Sir Dagonet appears, announces it is crooked and in the wrong spot...... so it was changed. :)

Got all settled in for the evening and got everyone's pavilions and tents set up and it was time to chill while waiting on the rest of the crew to appear.

The combination of people was great, Dante amused us greatly with his sword taping abilities.

Saturday was spent on the field watching all of the various fighters I was taking care of do their thing. The three man left them all estatic though the pas was alot of standing around and little fighting. Gwyneth declared Caterine and I were her bitches and apparently later on Sunday night after I went to bed they were asked who the head bitch was and they both declared that I was the "uberbitch" since I was the one who took care of them.

I have to say I had a terrific time on Saturday sitting on the side of the field on my pillow keeping everyone's mugs full of whatever they wanted. I would talk to them and hang out when they wandered back over or needed something and I was perfectly content. I was just where I wanted to be. Caterine said I should get an award for being able to keep up with five heavy fighters at one time and remember all their indosyncrasies. (I actually have 6 total right now, one more about to authorize next month, and as of this past weekend an 8th that is going to pick it up! - yeah.... I'll be busy!) :)

Thankfully rarely are they all at an event and fighting at the same time. And a few of them have others who take care of them from time to time as well who are actually from their area.

Humfrey is starting to get a little jealous he declared yesterday, but was glad that he had me all to himself last weekend. :) But he is the only one who wears my favor currently - of course he is the only one to ever ask too! The rest do salute me from time to time on the field and I actually made it through an event without getting yelled at for not paying attention! :) Success!!

Mel and I's plans for dinner worked out fairly well and went over beautifully. There was plenty for everyone and I don't think anyone went hungry! (At least we threw enough out the next morning!)

We roamed the site for awhile checking out all the parties and eventually headed on back to our own encampment to spend the night hanging with each other.

Sunday went nicely. The tourney was great and got to spend some girl time with all of us giggling and laughing on the side of the field watching the fighting.

Spent most of the afternoon curled up in my chair in the encampment. Actually a huge part of the night as well. Went running around with Dante for a bit, came on back and got Babette out to play for awhile. Apparently she has an affinity for muffins.... she got into the box with the muffins, I pulled her out and she brought the whole muffin with her. The thing was nearly half her size!

Everyone was pretty much out on their own in their own little groups and so I finally went to bed, really was not up to socializing and meeting new people all evening.

Got up early, got the camp partially cleaned up, "Camp Mom" made an appearance and pretty much everyone got a little talking to about the appearance of the camp in the morning..... *hrmph*. :) (Love ya guys!)

Got everything packed up and headed out for lunch. Could not find I95S and ended up on I295S which apparently dropped us off on I95S south of I85 - unfortunately we did not realize that until we saw a sign informing us that we were 40 miles outside of Fayetteville.... oops..... wrong part of the state. We aren't supposed to be there. So we ended up zigzagging across NC to get home. Good company though so it was pleasant.

Favorite quotes from the weekend:

"Peer Pop"

"Knight Incoming"

"No one fights like Dante, or tapes swords like Dante....." (filk song in progress.....)

(Bubbles are wonderful things!!!!!)

Weekend Theme Song: George Michale's Faith

9:40 a.m. - 2004-06-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns