rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reflection on Sapphire

I apologize for a so so entry with regards to the event this past weekend. So much happened and there were so many things going on over such a long weekend that there was no way to get it all in and to be honest not all of it should be posted in a public forum. Some memories should be kept closer to the heart as I think they lose their magic if too many know.

As always there were lots of great talks with friends and lots of running around and being silly. A friend of mine noticed that I had left my seneschale badge in the car over the weekend and I explained that I had not worn it because I was not there as a Seneschal that weekend, it wasn't a Kingdom event and it wasn't an event within the Barony. I was simply there to be with my friends. This was a weekend of sitting back and relaxing.

I know a lot of people would probably be bored out of their skulls sitting on the side of the field just watching everything all day, but I truly enjoy it. I love watching their triumphs and being there for them when they don't do as well as they hoped. One of my favorite memories from Pennsic last year was when Caterine came barreling off the field declaring she had killed a knight (he had killed her too) but she got him! I wouldn't have wanted to miss that for the world. Or even when Sir Dagonet fought Duke Cuan in the Best of the Best tourney - that was truly a beautiful fight.

This past weekend watching the groups of my friends take each other on in the three man was great fun and then finding out that some of them had been invited to participate in the Sapphire Tourney was terrific.

I did miss pretty much everything that was going on on the rapier field so I missed Christian's incredible performance. But to see him honored in Court for that performance was truly a beautiful thing. He works so hard and each time he gets recognized for it he feels it deep in his heart.

I think I have finally found my niche and where I truly enjoy being. I enjoy being Seneschal a great deal, but most of that work does not get done at events. So far I have enjoyed autocratting, and I enjoy just being there during the day and sometimes at night for my fighter friends. Whether it is handing them a bottle of water, rubbing out a knot, or counting bruises! I can't wait until my own dayshade is done and I can really set it up right!

That is pretty much what is on my mind today. After all the dust has settled surrounding this past weekend I have decided that I really did have a truly wonderful time.

I didn't get to spend as much time with a few of my friends as I would have liked, but they have their responsibilities too. And I have made dinner arrangements with one in particular for next week, as I truly love her and I think she needed me this weekend too and I really wasn't there for her as I should have been.

Off to get some work done in the office, did not get to the gym this morning and I am still awaiting the ribbing for that when the daily phone call comes checking on that. I am just simply out of time today. And this week to be honest.

Have a great one, Be Good!

9:42 a.m. - 2004-06-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns