rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Demo/Service

The con/demo this weekend went okay. I have to admit I was disappointed with the turnout from the local area regarding the demo. Pretty much every one of them had an excuse or reason as to why they could not make it, starting with about 30 confirmed at one point and ending up with only five of those actually showing would probably leave most people disappointed. It probably will effect our status with the convention for next year as well and we won�t be able to get the same deal we have gotten the last two years. Other than a very small sideshow we are not really contributing to the convention, and only ended up using two of the five hour block they gave us in one of the rooms. So I think our days are probably numbered with the same bonuses we have been getting.

Still have lots to do over the next few weeks, but it will all get done.

I do have one little vent I have got to get off of my chest....... in the course of talking and imagining futures in the SCA when you come around to mine it will inevitably lead to the discussion of me possibly becoming a Pelican one day. As I don�t do A&S and don�t fight, but do tend to do Service that is the most reasonable assumption. What ticks me off is a comment that has been directed to me a few times now (and it is partly in jest but it starting to erk) is that I need to do service in order to get it. You know, service is a hard one to gauge. We don�t compete in tournaments or competitions at events, and then get called into court at the end of the day to get some neat little trinket or prize for winning. Our stuff is not on display in the middle of the fighting field or in an A&S hall. We are running around taking care of little things, or sitting at home in the evenings filling out paperwork, making phone calls, or sending emails. Much of what a service person does is behind the scenes and is not done to win the prize at the end of the day, but for personal satisfaction. There is no glory in it, just a lot of hard work and a ton of Excedrin. The thank-you�s are our prizes. That is all we get mostly and all we ask for. Sometimes they are public, but more often than not they are private, if they even come at all some days. Maybe one day the powers that be will decide that I have done �enough� service to be a Pelican, maybe they won�t, but if that is my goal I am certain to be disappointed and give up long before it happens. I, personally, actually do quite a bit for the SCA and I admit it frustrates me a great deal when someone implies that I don't do enough. My personal free time for me is very little and far between.

So before anyone comments on anyone else�s �level� of service, they very well might want to double check themselves and ask that person what all they have done. Just because you don�t see it or hear about it day to day or see them called into court at the end of the day to receive a prize for exhibiting their abilities, does not mean it is not happening.

2:09 p.m. - 2004-06-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns