rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A weekend home.... sort of

Ahh, the weekend. Friday night was spent relaxing. Didn't really get much accomplished - other than work on Achbar's shield.

Saturday morning I got up fairly early, watched Ice Age, went back to bed, laid around for a bit, got up and made pancakes, sat down in my chair and realized that I was still tired. So I went back to bed again. Did not get up completely until Noon. Such a huge waste of time, but something I think I desperately needed.

Finally got dressed and went out for lunch. Then started running around trying to find various things for next weekend. Struck out pretty much every time and so I figured I would change tracks and head off to find replacement material for Duncan's tabard. No heavy cotton in his particular shade of yellow at one Hancock's - so I headed across town to check out the other Hancock's. Not there either. At this point I am beginning to have serious issues..... They have his particular color yellow in everything from light cotton to fleece. As a matter of fact a HUGE roll of fleece is sitting in the middle of the store just glaring the exact shade of yellow I am looking for, but in the wrong material. I'm on the phone with my cousin cussing every few minutes as I check the content label of every yellow I find - polyester..... polyester..... polyester. Normally, that would not be soo much of an issue - but you just can't send a heavy fighter on the field in the sun and heat to fight in polyester. Especially when this tabard has to get him through the tourney next weekend, Pennsic, and the next few events after that. (I am hoping that this one will hold up until at least next Spring!)

So after a few phone calls back and forth to Duncan and Mel I am driving back towards Mel's house, look up in the rearview mirror, and there is the resolution to my problem. 10 yards of natural silk in the perfect shade of yellow in the back of my car. So after a few more phone calls, it is decided, problem solved - he is getting a tabard made out of silk! Lucky boy!

Got to Mel's - had the usual discussion over what to have for dinner and got started on the mantle. No real problems there (Well almost - when you are trying to be cool and cut two pieces out at one time - it helps to be certain that the bottom piece of material comes ALL the way across so that you don't end up with one and a half pieces - please learn from my mistake - because that was irritating to say the least!).

So that got done and I got the dags cut out of the rest of the black to put on the bottom of the tabard. By that point it was midnight and definitely time to go home, the jokes were getting worse and we were laughing WAY too hard. Silliness was definitely setting in and I was scared of what Duncan would end up with if we continued.

Went on home and finished up Achbar's shield and got to bed around 2:00 or 2:30 - not really sure which.

Got up at 9:00 on Sunday and realized that I was already running late - or for some reason thought I was. Ran through the shower, jumped in the car, went to the store to get water and such, ran through the drive-thru and headed to practice. I am driving out of Charlotte towards Hickory and it is Noon, meeting starts at 1:00. For some reason I am thinking that I only have 30 minutes to get to the meeting so I call Hump and he hasn't left yet, then call Mel..... she is baffled as to why I am concerned about not being there on time. Then it all clicks that I am running a half hour ahead of where I think I am..... even I don't have it together all the time!

The meeting went well and long. We dissected both the Chatelaine's office and the Minister of Minor's office. Which was all beneficial, but there were a few people who wanted to get out of there early so we did not have as much time for fighting as I had hoped. So the fighters just picked up their shields and went over how to work with spears and defend against them. It was cool watching them and I was really pleased with how Achbar's shield looked from across the field.

Got out of there late myself, I kept running my mouth as I tend to do from time to time. Flew to my parents and had dinner with them, my grandfather, and Aunt and Uncle for Father's Day.

I had planned on running over to Bonnie and Robear's afterwards, but just did not have the energy. Went home a little after 8:00 and was asleep by 9:00.

9:35 a.m. - 2004-06-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns