rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tournament of Chivalry

To be honest, I could take pages to tell ya'll everything that went wrong and put me into a horrendous mood on Saturday morning, but I would rather concentrate on the good things from the event/weekend.

*Duncan's tabard & torse and mantle came out fabulously and he really looked incredible. I got to see the torse & mantle on his helm from across the field and I was really pleased at how it all looked put together.

*As much as Dag and I bicker, fuss, and fight at times, he is truly a good friend and always seems to come through when I am at my worse - which he did again on Saturday morning and really improved my day considerably. Thank you!

*The squiring and apprenticing went very well. Dante's tabard looks really spiff and suits him well. I think both partnerships are going to do both pairs a tremendous amount of good. Both sets of oaths were filled with great meaning and honesty.

*Caterine got her AoA!! More than earned if I do say so myself - though one of these days people will realize that her name is Caterine and not one of the various forms of Kathryn.

*Gwyn got into one of the Orders in her Barony and her Baron was reduced nearly to tears upon presenting it to her. She also received one of the links that Count Valharic had distributed to the knights to give to an unbelt they deemed worthy. She is really coming along well and I can't wait to see where she goes with this in the future.

*Marc got into the fighting teaching Kingdom Order (heaven help me, but I can't remember the name this morning). Well deserved and I heard someone mention later that day that it was great that new blood was being added to the Order, and well deserving people at that.

*I got an Opal. Which was really great, I had taken my shoes off earlier in the day due to all the wet and I had leather shoes on. (Besides it is nearly impossible for me to keep shoes on when there is so much grass to run around in.....) I had thought briefly I should put them back on for court, but as far as I knew there was no reason I would be getting recognized so I wasn't concerned about it. I did get my veil put on though. Got called in and tried to hide the fact that I was shoeless..... oops... His Majesty noticed and gave Kisaiya a hard time about not shoeing her Seneschale.... she vowed that I would have shoes on next time he saw me...... why do I doubt that? :)

I do want to thank everyone who wrote in for me and everyone who congratulated me afterwards and told me that it was well deserved. It means a great deal to me as it is truly amazing how far a simple thank you goes, and this is a great deal more than that. There are days where this job is not my favorite thing and days where I simply want to hang it up and just go sit out on the side of the field taking care of those fighter friends of mine that I have 'adopted' in a sense and always say thank you when I get them a mug of water or take care of some other need.

* It was a joy to see Sara again and I am so glad that she is now retaining for Kisaiya. I think that is something she will really enjoy and has the perfect temperment for it.

* It was also great fun for me to look around the field at my friends and see the things that I was able to do for them. Achbar's shield really looked great and I can't want to redo it for Crown in the fall. I have an idea on how to do it even better. While Dag's shield has taken a beating since I painted his heraldry on in the spring - the painting is still visibly there.

Saturday night was spent at Finn's with the crew and Gwyn and I disappeared upstairs for a little while to gossip and catch up.

Dag, Dante, Gwyn and I went on back to her house and chilled in the jacuzzi for a little while, watched some TV and then I headed to bed about 3:00 or so.

Dante and I went out for lunch together on Sunday since the other two were still sacked out and we knew there was no hope of them getting up any time soon.

Spent some time playing with Babette and watched them practice their fighting. I do enjoy just sitting there watching and listening to the instruction and teaching. It helps to make more sense of what is going on on the field for me and I can follow the fighting better.

Got home just before midnight and crawled immediately into bed.

9:26 a.m. - 2004-06-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns