rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dominica's Wedding

Ahh.. the weekend.... still could have used one more day.

Got out of work around 4:30 on Friday and ran to Jessamyn's to get ready to head off to the wedding. Other than a few patches of rain it was a completely uneventful trip up (which is a really good thing!). Got checked into the hotel and ran on up to the henna party. Lots of women, gossiping, stories, and just plain fun. I didn't get anything this time as I have stuff planned for Pennsic and I want to be sure to have clear skin to work with.

It was neat watching all the ladies who have never even seen this before just amazed at what you can do with henna. A few were brave souls and it gave it a whirl. Everyone's turned out beautiful, some definite artists in the group!

Not really sure what time we got to bed, but got up and headed on down to breakfast. The hotel did not have a continental and so we figured we would give the buffet a try. It was just plain awful!! We really should have ordered from the menu.

Then ran up to finish getting ready and put together the bridesmaid's bouquets. I promise Jessamyn and I will NOT be opening a florist shop any time soon. It took us forever to get them looking right! But we got it done and they looked really nice.

Took off to the wedding and helped with some last minute things. Laughed as Drea and Jessamyn got pics of Dominica in various states of dress and undress while she was getting ready.

The wedding went beautifully and Dominica looked beautiful. I loved her dress and the bridesmaids dresses were perfect.

It did make me miss going to church though and also made me realize how ingrained some of the responses were in me. I knew exactly what to say when, how to act, etc. I may have to start going to mass again on Sundays. I am a confirmed Catholic, have taught Sunday School - the whole thing. Just haven't been in years. And even though I used to teach the Seven Sacraments, it has been a long time since I thought about them. Seeing the wedding reawakened that need in me that when I do get married that I do need to do so in front of a priest in order to receive the sacrament of Holy Matrimony, even if it is just a separate, private ceremony, I think it would mean a lot to me personally.

The reception was pleasant and I got to meet some new people. We had to wait for Dominica's and Julius' exit though... a very campy "We're going to Disney World" exit. It definitely suited. :)

Afterwards we went out to dinner and had a really nice meal and relaxed, then headed on back to the hotel for the "after party". Julius looked exhausted and Dominica was still wired. He headed off to bed while she stayed and hung out. We ended up in a pile in the middle of the floor laughing and story telling. One of the little boys was having fun running around flirting with the girls and even treated us to a strip tease at one point. (He was about two!) Another little stud-muffin in the making... :)

Went out for breakfast at a local place in the morning and came on home. The trip back was just as pleasant and pretty much identical.

Got home and went to lie down to take a nap. Apparently that sent off the buzzer in everyone's heads to call me. Phone kept ringing. My ex called and let me go back to sleep, called back later in the evening and asked how my nap was - "what nap"? He was like "you didn't have to answer the phone" - but when the caller id comes up that it is the Kingdom Seneschale - who usually doesn't call me just to chat - I figured I probably should answer the phone! :)

So after a few phone calls here and there about various Sen stuff I realized that napping was not going to happen. Got another top done for Pennsic and then played Nintendo for awhile before curling up to read for a bit before bed.

8:52 a.m. - 2004-07-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns