rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Growing up in the 80's/Early 90's

Got this from Mel today:

You Know You Grew Up In The 80's or Early 90's If:

1. You've ever ended a sentence with the word "SIKE"

Yep!

2. You watched the Pound Puppies.

I don�t know that I ever watched it, but I remember it being on and my sister loved the Pound Puppies.

3. You can sing the rap to the "Fresh Prince of Belair" and can do

the "Carlton".

You mean there are people who can�t?

4. Girls wore biker shorts under their skirts and felt stylishly sexy.

I don�t remember that being fashion trend - but I do remember doing it because I wore loose flowing skirts and lived in Las Vegas where it was windy an incredible amount of the time!

5. You yearned to be a member of the Baby-sitters club and tried to start a club of your own.

Never read the series, but I remember it being in the library.

6. You owned those lil' Strawberry Shortcake pals scented dolls.

I was a Herself the Elf fan - but my sister had almost all the Strawberry Shortcake dolls

7. You know that "WOAH " comes from Joey on Blossom

Never watched Blossom

8. Two words: Hammer Pants

Ahh... Freshman year of high school... Daniel and Wally.... Yum!

9. If you ever watched "Fraggle Rock"

Definitely remember them - but didn�t watch them often.

10. You had plastic streamers on your handle bars... and �spokey-dokes" or playing cards on your spokes for that incredible sound effect

My father insisted on us having those obnoxious orange flags sticking up way over our bikes and baskets on the back for our book bags - which ended up being great for hauling stuff around the woods... The boy down the street used to put cards on his bike all the time!

11. You can sing the entire theme song to "DuckTales " (Woo ooh!)

Was that the Disney cartoon with the old duck and three nephews?

12. It was actually worth getting up early on a Saturday to watch cartoons.

I can hardly even find cartoons on Saturday mornings any more - at least not like what we had growing up.

13. You wore a ponytail on the side of your head.

Guilty! When I had hair long enough!

14. You saw the original "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles " on the big screen...and still know the turtles names.

Of course!! Raphael, Donatello, Michelangelo, Leonardo

15. You got super-excited when it was Oregon Trail day in computer class at school.

Drawing a blank on this one........

16. You made your mom buy one of those clips that would hold your shirt in a knot on the side.

Guilty!

17. You played the game "MASH " (Mansion, Apartment, Shelter, House)

Was that the paper thing that you switched back and forth with your fingers asking questions and then opening up one of the little tabs to see the answer?

18. You wore stonewashed Jordache jean jackets and were proud of it.

Absolutely LOVED mine - including all the string hanging down from it being really worn. Let I went and visited my grandmother who �trimmed� it for me..... *sigh* Sometimes they just don�t understand fashion

19. L.A. Gear....need I say more?

Yeah pink and Black hightops!

20. You wanted to change your name to "JEM " in Kindergarten. (She's truly outrageous.)

I STILL get one of their songs stuck in my head - �Jealousy hurts� - don�t ask me how I remember that!

21. You remember reading "Tales of a fourth grade nothing " and all the Ramona books.

Go Superfudge!! I so need to reread those again - they were terrific!

22. You know the profound meaning of "WAX ON, WAX OFF"

And the actions to go with it!

23. You wanted to be a Goonie.

Saw that movie at Thanksgiving again last year - still awesome!

24. You ever wore fluorescent clothing. (some of us... head-to-toe)

Weren�t those shorts awesome!

25. You can remember what Michael Jackson looked like before his nose fell off and his cheeks shifted.

Thriller! I even remember my parents making sure we were home from the Mall in time to see the video premier on MTV!

26. You have ever pondered why Smurfette was the only female smurf.

That conversation still comes up from time to time!

27. You took lunch boxes to school... and traded Garbage Pail Kids in the schoolyard.

Who didn�t? :) 28. You remember the CRAZE, then the BANNING of slap bracelets.

You lose me on the Craze, and I don�t remember slap bracelets being banned..... but then again I lived out in Vegas and they were more concerned with us bringing knives and drugs to school to worry about slap bracelets.....

29. You still get the urge to say "NOT " after every sentence.

hee hee!

30. You remember Hypercolor t-shirts.

Colors are good!

31. Barbie and the Rockers was your favorite band.

I don�t remember Barbie and the Rockers - I just remember Jem....

32. You thought She-ra (Princess of Power!) and He-Man should hook up.

Well of course!!!!

33. You thought your childhood friends would never leave because you exchanged handmade friendship bracelets.

I never thought they wouldn�t leave - but we sure had fun making them and making our boyfriends wear them!

34. You ever owned a pair of Jelly-Shoes. (and like #24, probably in neon colors, too)

Didn�t everyone? :)

35. After you saw Pee-Wee's Big Adventure you kept saying "I know you are, but what am I?"

I don�t know that I have every actually seen that.... I remember the saying and something about Birds - but then didn�t they find out he was a perv?

36. You remember "I've fallen and I can't get up"

That joke still flies around!

37. You remember going to the skating rink before there were inline skates.

Skating was fun!!!

38. You ever got seriously injured on a Slip and Slide.

Never got injured other than sunburns - but did spend many an afternoon on them!

39. You have ever played with a Skip-It.

dunno

40. You had or attended a birthday party at McDonalds.

Neither..... Skating rinks and rented out pools....

41. You've gone through this nodding your head in agreement.

Yep, for most of it!

42. You remember Popples.

They were sooo cute!

43. "Don't worry, be happy"

Former theme song!

44. You wore like, EIGHT pairs of socks over tights with high top Reeboks.

Do I have to admit this one? :)

45. You wore socks scrunched down (and sometimes still do... getting yelled at by "younger hip" members of the family)

I did use to, but haven�t in years and years.......

46. You remember boom boxes.. and walking around with one on your shoulder like you were all that.

My boombox remained in my room - but my walkman sure went everywhere with me! Madonna and Michael Jackson!

47. You remember watching both "Gremlins " movies.

Got nightmares then, and still do - can honestly say I never watched any of them.

48. You know what it meant to say "Care Bear Stare!!"

Yep!!! Got my first from my favortist Uncle Steve. Funshine Bear!

49. You remember watching "Rainbow Bright" and "My Little Pony Tales"

Hell, I remember the Rainbow Bright cereal!

50. You thought Doogie Howser/Samantha Micelli was hot.

Always thought Doogie was a dork, but I do remember making out with my boyfriend in the back of the theater and having him suddenly stop when Samantha came on the screen.

51. You remember Alf, the lil furry brown alien from Melmac.

And he still hasn�t gone away..........

52. You remember New Kids on the Block when they were cool... and don't even flinch when people refer to ! them as "NKOTB".

Ahh.. Jordan was my fav and I remember having that one love song of their�s dedicated to me on the radio quite a few times by my boyfriend at the time!

53. You knew all the characters names and their life stories on "Saved By The Bell," The ORIGINAL class.

I was already in the Navy at the time, but many Saturday mornings were spent on the couch watching it nursing a hangover - but the only name I remember is Screech.

54. You know all the words to Bon Jovi - SHOT THROUGH THE HEART.

Had that one dedicated to me too....

55. You just sang those words to yourself.

I still listen to the CD from time to time (of course I had to buy that one on CD when the tape wore out....) Bon Jovi, Slippery When Wet

56. You remember watching Magic vs. Bird.

Never big on basketball, but could pick both out in a lineup!

57. Homemade Levi shorts.. (the shorter the better)

I don�t remember them being short, I remember cutting them off at the knee and rolling them up like in Dirty Dancing.

58. You remember when mullets were cool!

I think that was even a few years before me......

59. You had a mullet!

Not!

60. You still sing "We are the World"

No.. But I do remember being taught it in music class in school.

61. You tight rolled your jeans.

It took years to get out of that habit.....how else were you supposed to show off your multi-layered, multi-colored socks that coordinated with your outfit?

62. You owned a bannana clip

The child sized ones - the adult ones always fell out of my hair - and that was when I was 14 and full grown......

63. You remember "Where's the Beef?"

Is that little old lady still alive?

64. You used to (and probably still do) say "What you talkin' about Willis?"

Can�t say that I ever did..... but I did love the show!

65. You had big hair and you knew how to use it.

Yep, a long with a can of aquanet a week - but suave smelled better!!!!

66. You're still singing shot through the heart in your head, aren't you!!!

I still love the song....... :)

PASS THIS ON TO ALL OF YOUR FRIENDS WHO GREW UP IN THE 80s or early

90s!!!

ROCK ON!!!

3:17 p.m. - 2004-09-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns