rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SSBB #1

My first event autocratting has appeared to have gone off with a bang, and very nearly started with one in reality. When we got on site the ranger was about 2 min ahead of us - as we walked up to the feast hall the ranger came out saying there was a slight problem. When he walked into the kitchen there were flames spouting out of the stove and he had to use a fire extinguisher to put them out. Needless to say there was smoke and fire extinguisher residue everywhere! So they called out the gas people, got the gas turned off, couldn�t save the stove for the event and gave Fiona, our feastocrat, a slight panic attack. Thankfully she has a few of the best working with her for this event and Robear just happened to have already planned on bringing his portable feast kitchen - disaster avoided.

The rest of the weekend pretty much flowed perfectly. Got set up done, made a quick run into town for a few last minute supplies, etc. Got back just as we were having to open troll then had to make a few trips back to the ranger station due to more issues with the feast hall and electricity on site. That was all sorted out.

Got garbed finally, and hung out at troll helping to figure things out and do general autocratting duties. Then it was time for my full body massage! Yeah!!! Got my shower and got ready for it, the first one I have ever had and got it from a dear friend. It was wonderful!!

Ran up to the hafla afterwards just as it ended... eek! But I did get to see some video and was amazed at the talent that showed up to perform and compete. Wow!!! Reyna actually had competition. I missed out on seeing her perform - which really is a serious disappointment - but I have two weekends set aside for her in the near future and I should hopefully get to see her dance at least once then. Relaxed for a bit longer and finally headed to bed. Didn�t actually get to sleep until about 3:00 as Dan and I sat and talked forever.

Back up at 7:00 to start getting ready as Troll was opening at 8:00 and figured I better be ready for whatever may come. The field was set up perfectly and just as I had imagined and hoped for. Just need more pennants and banners... have to work on that. Everyone was where they were supposed to be and doing what they were supposed to be doing. It was wonderful.

I was down on the rapier field taking care of checking to see when they were going to be ready to get going when I looked up and saw an Ebonwoulfe in full armor - helm and all walking onto the field. I smiled and gave a little jump for joy as I had a feeling that it was a certain Duke friend of mine that I had been giving a hard time for not coming to the event I was autocratting. I still wasn�t sure, but had to finish taking care of a few things, then I was able to come over I checked the belt as I was walking up and sure enough, it was Duke Logan. That was just the whipped cream on a day that was turning out to be a wonderful event.

The Zahara Tourney went very well! The flowers seemed to be really appreciated. I even got two roses!! Humfrey did me very proud and fought much better than I had anticipated with his lack of having the time to practice lately. He beat Cyriac first - and Cyriac in his gracious and becoming manner presented me with a rose. That man has a way with words and I love his admiration and participation in this game. He really gets the romantic side of this game and loves to promote it! The next was from Dante, a good friend of mine. I was sitting with Reyna when he presented me with my second rose. Edward had had a rough day on the field and she had not been presented with any roses, so I gave her mine in thanks of promoting and hosting the hafla the night before. It was one of the best Friday night gatherings I had seen at an event in a long time. Hump then pulled His Majesty and Sir Godfried - so he was out. :)

The rest of the day pretty much flew for me. I can�t really tell you what I did or where I was, I just know that I seemed to be running around a lot. The �Name that Heraldry� contest was great fun for those that participated. The best was the one that numerous people got stumped on that had the person�s name on it! The banners looked incredible, just have to figure out ways to get more people participating. Sponsoring contests is going to be the best way I am sure. I have two in mind for the Novice Tourney in the spring. Best Heraldic encampment and best heraldic fighting garb. But that is for another day.

Court flew by and I had to leave halfway through to go take care of some stuff. I did make a big oops during court - completely forgot the A&S competitions. Whoosh, right out of my head. I did not write it down and know now that everything needs to be written down. :) I saw John in the feast hall and he held up one of the prizes he had put together and I about died right there on the spot. Eeek!

Feast was incredible, incredible, incredible!!! I HATE feasts in general. They are long, boring, cold, and not all that great. And all I want to do is to get up and go play usually - (well, except when I have a raging cold and am autocratting.. :) The food was fabulous!! Every single thing tasted great! And the timing was perfect. We never really waited all that long before the next dish was ready.

The bardic afterwards was just what I was in the mood for. Dawn had my party tunic (or dress as it turned out to be - which in all actuality does suit me much better than pants and a tunic) ready - Timon and Pumbaa!!! Hee Hee!! Guess what I am going to be wearing late at night at War College and Market Day? :) The songs sung were beautiful, Talorgen, as always, sung songs that really get right to you. Katherine did a superb job!

Sunday dawned early, brief meeting with the Baroness to go over the numbers for the events, brief sen meeting, and then LONG curia. Boy does this Barony like to talk to each other! :) But everything got dealt with and we moved through things as quickly as possible.

Got off site about 1:30 or so. Had lunch with Dan, Achbar, and Hump. Got home, took a shower, nap, and was still in bed about 8:30 last night.

Thank yous and more details will follow!!!

11:31 a.m. - 2004-09-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns