rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Drunken banner making

I�m still trying to puzzle out how the weekend went by so incredibly fast!

Friday night was spent over at my parents. Had a really nice time and visited with them and my grandfather. Daddy got home late from work and brought Mom some flowers. It was so incredibly sweet. (For those of you who are all confused about my parentage, I have a natural father (my father), a step-father (Daddy), and a 2nd step-father (Dad). Mom divorced husband #3 a couple of years ago and remarried husband #2 - the one who basically raised me.) It is really great to see my parents back together and happy. Went home that night and put all my heraldic display research into a tabbed binder and read through it all the way through.

Saturday I got up a bit later than I planned, but wasn�t running late in the day yet! Went on over and got Cassandra, figured out exactly what, how much, and what size pennons we were making. Grabbed lunch and material. That, of course, is when I found out that with all the mess of someone stealing my card number they canceled it automatically. Unfortunately, no one sent me a new card! So that has gotten cleared up today and one should be arriving very soon.

This is when time really started getting away from us. We got back and got all the material into the wash, took Logan down to his truck, then stopped at the store to grab a few more things that we were going to need. Got back to the house and got the pennons cut out (thank goodness for foam board, drafting tools, and razor blades!). Went and got dinner, and then started working on drawing everything on the pennons. Got all the dolphins and wolves done and at that point I think the mixture of alcohol and movies got the best of us. But it was after midnight by then! Watched Man on Fire that they had saved for me to watch this weekend and of course in true Rachel fashion, fell asleep half-way through! Finally just got up and went to bed.

Sunday morning was gorgeous and so we spent the day painting dolphins and wolves and dowing a bottle of plum wine. I am slowly beginning to realize that I am just as anal as all the boys I have been doing stuff for. I realize now why it never occurred to me to be upset when they asked for something to be done a particular way or in a particular color, etc. I�m the same way! I must have spent an hour �touching up� a single wolf while we chit chatted about various things. I was even reminded that these were going to be 8 feet up in the air, no one would be able to tell if the eye was perfect or not!

I actually really enjoy the painting and stuff, it is so relaxing. Heraldic display is really becoming an obsession with me and I am actually learning quite a bit.

I have the material to do my banner now along with my seat cushion. Still debating on exactly how I am going to do my banner, but the idea is forming and should be complete before too much longer. I did figure out an Hungarian one I am eventually going to make in my colors and heraldry.

I still have to get some stuff done for Achbar before Crown. So if anyone knows of any banner styles that are particularly middle eastern - please let me know!

I also want to get a really nice one done for Duncan - so if you see any pics of any Scottish ones - I would love that as well!!

Off to get some work done so that I can go home and finish up the back of my chair tonight!

4:11 p.m. - 2004-09-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns