rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Feast of the Unicorn and Sir Sinclair

It was a truly beautiful weekend. I don�t think we could have asked for better weather to honor the day tat Sinclair was to be knighted.

Friday was a whirlwind of packing. I got everything loaded, or so I thought, and took off for work. Got to work and got the list of items that I was to be bringing and realized that some of it was still at the house... oops! So while having an exceptionally busy day at work and trying to figure out how I was going to conserve as much time as possible while trying to organize three people riding together, getting the stuff I forgot from my house, and not getting a lunch break - my phone rang. Logan was stealing my ride..... :) Apparently he had more stuff to transport than room and had called Amanda to see if she could bring her truck on over to help him out and then go on down at the same time he was. I told her that wasn�t a problem to go help him, as he probably needed it more than I did.

As it turns out, that was a blessing in disguise. I was able to run home and then take a back way to the event saving what probably turns out to be hours off of my travel time. Wasn�t able to make the phone calls that I was hoping to make on the way as it truly was a back way through National Forests and such - which apparently don�t tend to use cell phones.

Got to the hotel and curled up in my room to start sewing pearls. Once that was finished, I migrated to the other room where the rest of the knighting gifts were being completed. It wasn�t long before I was put to work as well. :) Everyone was in high spirits and doing all they could to help out and visit at the same time. It was well after midnight when we turned in for the night with alarms set to go off at 5:00 a.m. to get out to the site and set up before Sinclair was to be put on vigil.

The time came and we all gathered around as Their Majesties called him forth to ready him for his vigil. We all then followed him towards the vigil tent where they put him through the ritual torture... err.. Umm... cleansing. A huge bowl of water with ice is poured on top of his head to cleanse him before he is put on vigil. Mind you, he does not have a shirt on, it is 50 degrees outside, and they sure took their time with pouring it on him. I swear it lasted an entire minute. He braved it well though, attempting to remain stoic and breathing. Then they grabbed dry towels and shirts to dry him off just as quickly as they could, the boy was practically shining with the buffing they gave him. Then he was dressed in white and put on vigil.

The time passed quickly and we all relaxed and visited while various Peers of the Realm visited Sinclair in his vigil tent. After a little bit we looked up and Their Majesties were approaching again with an entire retinue.

A lady was visiting Sinclair on his vigil and when she emerged from the tent Their Majesties were awaiting her outside, declared they were going to make her a Peer that day as well and swept her off to her Moment of Contemplation. I don�t know that I have every met this lady, but everyone around seemed to be very pleased and those that knew her were ecstatic - so I�m guessing this was a very good thing!

Then the time came for Sinclair to be knighted. We all moved on out to the field, Sir Bryce sang while Sinclair, Logan, and his squire brothers approached in a procession displaying Sinclair�s banner, shield, and helm with mantle. It was beautiful!

The knighting went very well and everyone was in tears. Congratulations Sir Sinclair!!! Pictures and video were taken and I am sure it won�t be long until you can find pictures all over the internet.

The day went smoothly. I did walk out of the pavilion at one point to run into a gentleman I have known since I moved to Charlotte almost 8 years ago. He got married a couple of years back and moved to Colorado. I was shocked to see him, finally got to meet his wife, and unfortunately got tied up with the household later in the day and did not get a chance to say goodbye to him. Achbar fussed at me later that night for forgetting to say good bye and promised to get his contact information to me so that I could get back up with him.

Later in the day Amanda and I gave up our feast spaces to the household as we had come up with some alternate plans of things we wanted to do for the party back at the hotel that evening. There were actually a million other valid reasons as well, but that was the primary one. We got packed up, and took off to grab dinner and get to the store. We picked up a yellow and blue cake with Congratulations Sir Sinclair and yellow and blue streamers to decorate the room. (Sinclair�s colors for those of you who don�t know him.)

Grabbed dinner praying the entire time that we have time to get set up before everyone arrived back. Got to the hotel and there�s Logan�s van..... shoot!! They aren�t supposed to be here yet. Thankfully Sinclair and Kari were still on site, so we decorated and showed off the cake. Relaxed and hung out with everyone awaiting Sinclair and Kari. I think we were all pretty much on our way to a good buzz by the time they got back. Shots were floating around and at one point I have no clue what I was drinking, it felt like every few moments Wanda was putting a bottle in my hand telling me to take a drink and pass it on.

We then congregated in a room across the hall for a guys vs. gals game of pictionary. Serious competition going on there and controversy. What was really strange was that the guys gave us fairly simple words and we were just not getting them, while we apparently gave the guys all sorts of fairly difficult words (Proper Nouns, etc.) and they were getting them left and right. At the end we did end up tied so Logan set up a tie-breaker. The girls won by 2 seconds (and the grace of Logan..... :)

The night went on and to be honest I can�t even begin to tell you what time we finally hit the sack. We did manage to get up fairly early though and get things put back in their proper vehicles and went out to get something to eat. Horrid waitress service, but the food was at least edible.

Then Amanda, Sinclair, and I stopped at the neighboring gas station to fill up before we hit the road. There, of course, ended up running our mouths for quite a bit longer. Finally decided we really needed to get home and Amanda�s truck wouldn�t start.

So Sunday afternoon found Sinclair and I pushing Amanda�s truck across the parking lot in an attempt to kick start it..... whew! That worked!!! Thankfully there were no other incidents on the way home.

The evening went by quietly for me and this week will be spent on getting my spare room readjusted so that I can turn that into my sewing/craft/computer room and reclaim my kitchen from the SCA.

1:28 p.m. - 2004-11-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns