rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bad day in town

LJ - yesterday evening:
Well I was finishing up work this evening, my boss walked out to his car to put his briefcase up as he was getting ready to leave. Suddenly he walks back in and informs me that I am to shut the office down immediately, close up and go home. "okay..." Then he tells me that the next block over there was an armed robbery and they found a body.

Now for some places, not so shocking. For some places I have lived in worked in -not surprising at all. Downtown Monroe where you recognize the majority of the people on the street, know everyone in your building by first name, many of the buildings are over 100 years old, and you can walk everywhere from the post office, to the library, and courthouse - things like that just don't happen. We just don't have murders and robberies here. It's actually really scary. I really enjoy living out here and quietness of it.

Especially after living in New Orleans where half my friends were 'packing' when we went out and I actually had a rule that when you came over guns went on top of the fridge. In the mornings it was not unusual to hear that there was a traffic jam somewhere because of a body found in the median, etc.

I sincerely hope that this is just a freak thing and not the beginning of a trend. I really like my sleepy little town and would prefer that it doesn't change.

Ah, well, off to finish some things up. Have a great evening!

LJ- this morning:
08:48 am - Update
Turns out it was on this mile long street I work on. It is a store that I have shopped at from time to time and have bought various hair pieces from. I can't imagine the need to kill the lady, she was a real sweetheart and not aggressive in any way. No real idea on who did it at this point, someone did see a car pull up, a man run in, and then run back out. Hopefully she recalls enough about the vehicle that it will help them figure out who this is. The offices around me are going to be checking on me from time to time as I am in the office all by myself the majority of the time and can't see who is walking in the door with the way things are set up. It should be find though, can't imagine the person who did this is going to attempt the same thing in this area again - at least not so soon, and who would think of holding up a lawyer's office..... Odds are, not a whole lot of cash on hand.

I relaxed last night and got a photo album put together. It was 9:00 by the time I finished that and playing on the computer and I headed to bed early. With being up until almost 1:00 two nights in a row on work nights, I needed to get some rest.

Well off to knock out some sen business and then get some filing done in the office. Have a great one!

9:53 a.m. - 2004-12-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns