rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

12th Night


12th Night was as 12th Night is and unfortunately it just really isn't one of my favorite events. Not that it is not a good event, this one was run smoothly and in a beautiful location. It's just that I love being outside, watching the fighting, and taking care of the fighters. You just don't get a whole lot of that at 12th Night. :)

Achbar and I took off after work on Friday. Got most of the way there and he was getting tired so we stopped so he could get a caffinated soda. Got back in the car and about 10 minutes down the road he suddenly questions his drink. We check - sure enough - he got Root Beer - which has no caffine - poor guy. We got in sometime around 1:30 AM and got into the room and settled in for the night. Chit chatted with Halima for a bit and got to bed.

Halima had to get up at 7AM to go do her Protege duties of assisting with set up and since she was awake there was no reason to not get moving myself. I have the hardest time sleeping once there is movement and activity in the room in the morning. At night if I am tired enough I'll sleep through a party - I did manage to sleep through a barracks invasion in bootcamp - didn't wake up until someone turned the light on and I then realized there were people running all over the place yelling and screaming..... oops! :)

Got dressed and realized that I had somehow left my make up at home - so I had to run to the store to get more. Got on site and the rest of the day just sort of slid by - spent a lot of time just hanging out with the Canton (it was amazing how many of us were there!). Got the new Atlantia Thug T-shirt, a new hair piece, a houpplande pattern, and some stuff for Crown.

Feast was actually the best part by far. The food was great until they veered away from the Japanese food - then it sort of blended in with all the other feasts I have had. Which in itself is not bad but I know there has to be another way to do veggies other than with toasted cheese. The company was truly the best part - Morwenna and Bardulf were great fun. Sitting at feast with them toasting the craziness of the SCA and Bardulf's commentary of what all was going on around us was truly a delight. We were also blessed with a terrific server - it was Knight that I'm sorry to say I don't recall his name. Then one of Dame Ann's daughters came by and sang for us. She has a beautiful voice and sang one of my favorite songs from Lord of the Dance. (Which I am thrilled to say I have seen Live, have on video, and have the soundtrack for!) The sidesword demonstration put on by Alejandro was fascinating. Too bad we got an email Monday from SCA forbidding any more side-sword demos..... that was lucky timing!

We left immediately after feast. I was sound asleep within about 15 minutes of getting back to our room. I recall Halima crawling into bed, but certainly was not aware of when she came back from site or when she came back from partying. I was apparently sleeping extremely hard.

The trip back Sunday was uneventful, I listened to CD's, Achbar slept. Dropped him off and ran over to L&C's to drop off little gifts I picked up for them. Cassandra loved the moonstone earrings I got her (her bad SCA week has lasted a month and I thought a little unexpected something would cheer her up a bit) and of course couldn't come home with a new Thug T-shirt for myself and not get one for Logan.

The only other new thing I came home with was a bunch of terrific green brocade that Duncan sent to 12th Night for me. It is terrific and I can't wait to figure out what to make with it. The design is also one that I can work pearls into very easily!!! Hmmm.... wheels are turning!

SCA duties tonight, and tomorrow night (well tomorrow night is just fun with the fighters). Thursday and Friday night will be spent getting ready for Ymir. Saturday will be spent pavilion building and Sunday is meeting/practice. Which I hope to get out of early this month so I can get home. I have a few things I would actually like done by Ice Castles and knocked out.


11:07 a.m. - 2005-01-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns