rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Catching up

It was a long busy week last week.

Saturday was spent working on building the new Baronial pavilions. They are nothing fancy, but there are benefits in the simplicity of the design. Especially when it comes to decorating - it is so much easier to make something come to life when you are not having to worry about contrasting or conflicting with any built in decorations. I can�t wait to see how it is going to look with all the banners and such put up!

So many people showed up that we got both pavilions knocked out easily. Bonnie graced with me a silk green and white houpalande. It is gorgeous!! I tried it on as soon as I got home and it fits perfectly. I also got some great material from her to that is going to most likely be turned into garb for Novice this year.

Sunday was Baronial practice and meeting. That went well, though I still have not figured out how to not make it consume an entire day for me. Did not get anything done sewing wise and I have a ton to do!

Monday was a holiday for me and I spent the day running around from site to site with Jonathan and Susan checking out some possibilities. Boy was it COLD!!! There were a few times when I �took Jonathan�s word� that something or other was out there in the cold, up a hill behind some trees. I wasn�t getting out of the car! The Cleveland County Fairgrounds are a possibility and Golden Valley is absolutely amazing. I would love to autocrat an event there one day. It is dry, which is unfortunate, but the site has amazing possibilities when it comes to really making you feel as if you stepped back in time. Just have to find an available weekend.

BEST NEWS of the weekend came during a quick phone call to Tracey on my way out to Susan�s on Monday morning - tickets to New Orleans were on sale!!! So there are now six of us all on the same flight, and hotel reservations are being made in the quarter. The hotel it looks like we are settling on is gorgeous and right on Bourbon St. Of course Tracey and I have been combing the sites on New Orleans and figuring out what combination of tours and such we would like to do as well. So far it looks to include cemetery, swamp, and Mardi Gras World. I lived there for years, but never did the touristy stuff, so I can�t wait. It was always something we would do �one day�.

Not much else going on.... Ice Castles (http://black-diamond.atlantia.sca.org/icecastles.html ) this weekend then some household stuff the weekend after. Not doing University - all I want is an MOL class at this point and they are not having one this time around, so no use going. Besides I will have enough sewing to do that weekend I�m certain.

Got the patterns done and a quick and dirty - try this for size done for Duncan�s tabard. Did have to redo the sleeves. Not really sure what I was thinking there - they came out WAY too small. I kept looking at this sleeve and then pulled out his measurements - there was absolutely no way his arm was going to fit in that sleeve - even when it wasn�t flexed. So I quickly revamped the sleeve with correct measurements and started to sew it on. Wasn�t going well - then realized that I was a goober and was sewing it on completely wrong. Thankfully only half of one was done! At least I am learning and was making it out of $1 a yard fabric first. It does take time - but the heartache it will save you down the road if you make it out of something cheap first makes it all worthwhile.

Off to get some work done in my freezing cold, cathedral ceilings, 100+ year old building. - I so need a space heater!

10:36 a.m. - 2005-01-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns