rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SCA vision

A terrific site on Queen Elizabeth was posted on the rapier list the other day.

http://www.elizabethi.org

I have been throughly enjoying this site. Queen Elizabeth and Mary Queen of Scots have always interested me and I read quite a bit on them. There is a new book out about the two of them that I plan on getting after the Pennsic hubub is all over.

Being in the SCA I could have easily chosen that particular time and place in history to be where my persona is from, but I already know a great deal about England and really wanted to study the rest of the world. The Hungarian was chosen simply because of the name and my heraldry harkens back from my gyspy days traveling The Silk Road. Now of course, I have found the most gorgeous early 15th Century Venetian gown that I must have one day. It is in a book of Dawn's and I fell in love with it the moment I saw it. I think that one is going to be saved until I have a very special day coming up, i.e. Baroness, Queen, peerage, wedding, etc.

Baroness is something that I would like to achieve one day. Not necessarily the next time around as there are others that I would really love to see as our next Baron and Baroness. Queen... there have been a couple of gentlemen who have stated that they would like to fight for me one day. That may or may not occur. Life is a funny thing at times and things change, but it is a wonderful compliment. Should the day actually come, I will be honored and flattered. As for the peerage, well, I'll do what I enjoy doing, have fun, and maybe one day that too will happen. Should none of it ever happen, that will be fine too. It certainly won't be the end of the world, and as long as I am enjoying myself, that is all that truly matters.

The whole Seneschale thing I stumbled into. Achbar still loves to tease me unmercifully because I had been dead set against taking any officer positions of any sort in this organization. Not that I had a prob with it, but I have been in the leadership position in previous groups, and we had the largest and most successful group in the area while I was in charge of it. Unfortunately it is not always fun, and while I do enjoy it, I have discovered that I am just as content to sit on the side of the field watching the fighting and laughing and visiting with my friends at night.

I guess part of me is still trying to find the romance and ceremony that is so much a part of the middle ages and renaissance in my mind. Maybe that is why I am so focused on the banners lately, I see that as a place to start. The tourney that we are having at Birthday also lends a great deal to what my vision of an SCA event should be. When I think of what I would like to see at an event, I see banners flying in the wind of all colors and heraldry. Pavilions lining the field with shields set up outside indicating who is residing within. Nice wooden furniture underneath with people in beautiful garb. Fighters taking the field and not just haphazardly going through the motions of the various salutes or not at all, but taking the time to really make that salute and remember who it is they are saluting. Taking the time to bow or curtsey to passing royalty. People taking pride in their garb and their prescence. Fighters being sure that they don't wear just any ole thing while they are fighting, but a nice tabard or tunic.

I am certainly not a "period nazi" or any thing even close. I don't feel that everything on your body or around your person has to be documentable back to "period". The ten foot rule is a wonderful thing. How does your person and area appear from 10 feet away. Does it resemble something that could have been found in period?

I am so thrilled with the latest turn in encampment competitions that we have been having in Sacred Stone and with the changing of the A&S Officer, I sincerly hope that continues. Looking right is the first step, then determining how far you want to take it with regards to documentation and accuracy should be a personal decision.

For me personally, I don't really care if my chair or table can be documented back to the 14th century, but I do want it to be in wood and to look nice. The chair will be coming shortly - I should hopefully have it before the start of the tourney season. Just a piece at a time, and in a few years, I hope to have a gorgeous set up. It will probably always be a work in progress.

A thought to leave you with.... Kisaiya told me a story once about a gentleman at Gulf Wars, who despite the nastiness of the weather that year and all the rain and muck, still wore his nice garb all week. When she stopped him to ask him why, when everyone else had been wearing their bumming garb, he told her that it wasn't for him. That it is for everyone else who was there that week and saw him, to help contribute to their dream.

8:37 a.m. - 2004-08-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns