rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Robin and Rick's wedding

I had a truly great weekend this weekend, and one that I won�t forget for a long time. Got off of work on Friday and headed to The Kabob House to pick up all the appetizers. When I got there the owner asked why I had gotten all but one of the appetizers, and since I had never had it, got some out and had me try it. It some sort of eggplant thing and was absolutely fabulous!! I have to say The Kabob House has gotten to be my absolute favorite restaurant.

Got up to the site and got settled into my cabin. Caught up with everyone, and then we had Robin�s Bachelorette/henna party. We had a terrific time, great food, and the henna that I got from Spiceland Groceries was incredible! It set so dark! All the girls got hennaed beautifully. Sara did most of mine and did a great job. Robin�s dad was there and got some wine out and toasted Robin with all of us. It was a really special night for her with a bunch of her closest girl friends.

Then we headed out to the field to watch the boys �dagger� fight (padded weapons). I plopped down on the ground at Chris� feet and this guy was just having fits because I was a lady and sitting on the ground. We kept having to assure him that I was absolutely fine and had chosen to sit there. After awhile we all went on back to the feast hall and drummed and danced, and just hung out drinking and being silly. Took off for a walk with Chris on down to the lake. We sat and talked for a while out on the pier. One thing I absolutely love about being out in the woods in the middle of the night away from the city lights is all the stars that you can see. That is one thing I miss about Meridian, MS. The base was so far away from everything that you could see three times as many stars in the sky.

Headed on back and realized that it was after 4AM and figured that it was past time to go to bed. Went to bed and got up about 10AM - realized that I was probably running a bit late and ran and got a shower and got dressed. Went on up to the feast hall and pulled out all the leftovers from the henna party and just sat and ate! The food was sooo good. Stuffed grape leaves, cucumbers in yogurt sauce, eggplant on pita bread, and feta cheese..... such good food! Afterwards I was sitting with Sara while she did some more henna on me and was sitting there on the floor with my eyes closed. I could hear the tinkling of the girls jingle belts, Achbar was drumming and Zoe was playing her dulcimer and it was just so perfect. The perfect atmosphere for Robin and Rick�s wedding.

I was called away after a bit to go help Robin get ready. Let me just say that she was absolutely beautiful. I had to try so hard to keep from crying the entire time I was helping her get ready. She had taken a red and gold sari and turned it into a Beledi dress, wrapped a turban on her head and we attached a veil to it coming down from the back. Her bouquet was fresh rosemary and mint leaves and smelled wonderful.

I was pleased to discover that I apparently have a telepathic link with Hump now, I was getting Robin ready and needed a chair, looked outside to holler to someone and there was no one around. So I just stood at the door saying Mark, I need you Mark, show up, Mark - I am sending a mental call out, Mark. Well we waited a few secs, no Mark. *sigh* oh, well, worth a shot... not two minutes later Mark was at the door. It was just too perfect!!!And of course ran and fetched a chair with no issue at all!

After she was finished and Saunooke and cleansed us Neca, Saunooke and I went up to the little grove where they were going to have the wedding and everyone was waiting. Robin and Rick walked down the road together, walked around the crown and approached from different sides. They stood facing each other across the clearing while her father sang a song. They then approached each other and stood facing each other holding hands. The vows were heartfelt and sincere. I don�t think there was a single girl not crying through the entire thing. The entire ceremony was breathtaking.

Afterwards we headed back and had a mini hafla inside the feast hall. Presents were opened and then it came time to throw the bouquet. Well, actually, she pinged me with it. I looked away for half a second, looked back, and got a face full of bouquet!

Dinner was superb and simple, so that we weren�t too stuffed to enjoy the rest of the evening. Graciella did a great job! After the feast hall and kitchen got cleaned up we all headed on back up to the field and laughed and joked and just hung out having a great time. I turned in about midnight.

Sunday I went on over to Dawn and Andrea�s to pick up a few things, and ended up being sucked into their couch and had a ferret tossed into my lap. Hee! I was comfortable and ended up not getting off that couch for a long time. Oops.. I really did have things I was supposed to do and places I was supposed to go. Nathan finally got out the door after declaring numerous times that he really needed to get going..... I�m telling you their living room is dangerous! I am not the only one who gets sucked in!

We went out to IHOP for lunch and Chinese buffet for dinner, then ran and saw Shrek 2. I loved it!! We laughed the entire time! A ton of great one-liners are going to come out of that movie. Definitely a must see - so go see it if you haven�t yet!

Thanks to Hump and Chris for helping my haul my stuff in and out of the cabin! It was really appreciated guys! And Chris thanks for the whiskey sours and destressing!

Off to go grocery shopping for the weekend tonight and to pick up Achbar's shield so that I can "make it right"!

2:38 p.m. - 2004-05-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns