rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Caught up with Sis

Okay - was partial adult last night. But then didn't really have any choice... :) Didn't get out of work until 6:30 last night and after grabbing something to eat it was after 7:00.

So I ran home and called my sister back. We were on the phone for well over an hour. She is doing well down in FL and caught me up on all the family gossip from down there. Her job is going well too. Though I thought answering phones in a lawyers office is amusing at times, her's had tears streaming down my face!

My sister works in a place that runs an online testing site for the FL DMV. When people have to take various tests for too many points, tickets, etc. they can sign up to take their test online through this private company. The mother of one gentleman called up saying that there must be a problem with the test, her son keeps taking it and can't seem to pass. So my sister pulls up his information and discovers that he has taken the test a grand total of 37 times! It also lists the number of correct/incorrect answers. She tells the mother that she doesn't know what the problem is other than her son must be guessing at the answers because the correct answers vary so wildly - in one test all he needs is one more question correct in order to pass and the one he takes 5 minutes later he only gets 1 question correct!!! One lady could not seem to find her address bar, another was trying to use her AOL username and password to login to the site and couldn't figure out why it wouldn't work. One lady that was having some issues getting things to work properly, so my sister asks her if she has enabled cookies on her browser, the lady responds that she just got the computer the week before and it didn't come with any cookies. Then of course you have the foreigners that have a hard time with the language and descriptions..... She asked this gentleman where he currently lived so that she could determine the closest facility for him and he replied that he lived just pass these two crossroads. (Mind you this is a company that covers the entire state...). She explained that she needed his actual address and he gave her the street name, then she asked for the city and he said Florida! No, the city, Florida! I understand you live in Florida, that is the state, but I need to know the city.. Florida! - He finally understood what she was asking and she got her answer. Help desks sure are fun at times!

So I talked to her for awhile, caught her up on the goings on in my life. She is hoping to come up for Thanksgiving and I am sure we will shop our little hearts off - its what we do best together.

We discussed various vacation options for next year. Scotland I think is at the top of the list at the moment... so Pennsic may be out.... but come on - a week in Scotland or a week at Pennsic.... Love ya'll - but my sister and I would have a great deal more fun there!

Of course that is just dreaming at the moment..... so who knows what will actually happen.

Did find out that my parents are getting her a computer for Christmas - so I'll be asking for a sewing machine tonight! :) I have such wonderful parents!! Now just to figure out what I want from the rest of them.... hmmm..... At times the multiple parent thing ain't half bad - three sets!

Life is life at the moment. Friends, loves, and crushes all come and go.

11:05 a.m. - 2004-07-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns