rozsa's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New Years 2005

The weekend was a long one, but a good one.

Got off work for the weekend at 1:00 Thursday, ran home, got packed, and headed to Amanda�s for the weekend. Realized about half way there all the various things I forgot - including the material to make a dress for 12th Night. Had sewing machine, pattern, sewing kit, etc... just no material.....

She and I went and picked up the final bit of film that needed to be developed from Sinclair�s knighting and Polar Bear Ball, then went and saw Ocean�s Twelve. We both enjoyed it, but wished we had seen Oceans Eleven again before we went - probably would have been even better. The whole thing with Julia Robert�s character was a hoot! Afterwards we grabbed dinner then headed back to Wal-Mart to get the CD that they apparently forgot to include with the photos. That�ll teach me to check for everything when I pick up film!

Early night that night. Friday we ran out for lunch and did some grocery shopping. Headed on back and did prep work for the breakfast casserole and a dip she was going to make. Then relaxed for a little bit watching the CSI:SVU marathon. Great show!

Logan and Cassandra got there and Logan asked me to help Cassandra unload the car while he and Amanda ran out to the store to get some last minute stuff. Then told me there was a gift in the car for me. I went on out with Cassandra after they left and sitting on the back seat was a 3-D wooden shield of my heraldry. The lotuses had not just been painted on, but had been cut out individually, then painted and glued on. It is absolutely gorgeous!
That evening Logan grilled pork loin for dinner with a mango and chutney sauce and an apricot sauce. We played Cranium and I have to say that I seriously don�t recall "life lines" being an option while playing this game..... :) The Evans-i were getting questions they weren�t sure of and calling their mother to find out the answers. I have to give them credit though... they did it before the timer ran!! We then played Taboo which I am getting to really enjoy. You have to get your team to say a word without hand gestures or saying five "off-limit" words. Usually the other team has someone looking at the words with you and "buzzing" you if you say one of the forbidden words. I am beginning to discover a trick with it though - if you get the �buzzer� drunk - at times they will start helping you come up with clues and may even shout out the word for you! The later part resulted in us getting two words at one point in the game!

We watched Hebrew Hammer (which of course I fell asleep during) then it was time for the ball to drop. Somehow we ended up with 9 bottles of champagne and 7 people for New Years� Eve. Don�t worry - none of it went to waste - or at least the edible stuff..... Apparently some champagnes don�t keep as well as others over time.. Eek!

I wish I had gotten a picture of the table after that, we were playing poker and had cards and poker chips scattered around the table with champagne flutes! It was definitely an unusual combination!

Army of Darkness followed after that and I am really not sure what time we finally got to bed. I do know, however, what time we started getting up.... Dave showed up bright and early at 9AM with pork loin and smoker in hand. That turned into a great lunch!

The day was filled with a Cops marathon and football. Poor Dave - LSU lost the game due to a touchdown as the clock hit "0". They had come up from behind and there was practically nothing left on the clock - we all thought the game was done. It was a good reminder that the game truly isn�t over until the clock does hit "0:00".

Sinclair and Kari got there with the kids mid-afternoon and various others wandered in throughout the night. We had the gift exchange with considerably investigation of the packages and snatching back and forth. I got a nifty mini-leatherman which is going directly in the field basket.

Logan�s Lasagna after that which I still have leftovers from and am not complaining by any means.

The rest of the night was spent playing more Taboo (which is an interesting experience with 20 drunk adults) and Cranium. Various physical challenges were issued here and there with some insightful results.

Bed time came much earlier that night.

Sunday was a quick trip to IHOP - I am truly amazed at Kari�s ability to get so many people moving so quickly. I am fairly certain I was in the car within fifteen minutes of getting out of the shower. J

We went home as soon as we got back - most were too tired to even contemplate fighter practice. The afternoon/evening consisted of naps and movies.

It was a good weekend, but long weekend. Then I have 12th Night this coming weekend!!! That will be a hoot, Halima and I are certain to have a blast together all weekend.

10:01 p.m. - 2005-01-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

halimadances
apolloniamda
alesiag
oddny
manya
supfiggy
cslhome
chris-sca
bera
redswanne
tzchaika
dameanne
ealdthryth
honeypot904
nitenar
bdeb
nia-nia
brucedowns